Skip to content ↓

Music Festival Finals 2024

Music Festival Finals 2024

On Friday, 9th March 2024, students and parents gathered in the Hall to watch the live Finals of the TPS Music Festival.

In the largest set of Finals for many years, seventeen pupils performed in a wide variety of different instrumental families, competing for the honour of winning one of our three trophy prizes. In addition, we enjoyed performances from Traverso, The Westwood Ensemble, the TPS Orchestra and a solo performance on the Violin by Caitlin Wilkinson, in her Upper Sixth Year, of 'Méditation', from Thaïs, by Jules Massenet.

This year’s Music Festival saw 91 pupils perform in the Preliminary Round, across a range of 25 different instrument categories, at Beginner, Intermediate, and Advanced level. In addition, seven other pupils were recognised with a special commendation or as the Most Promising Beginner. These winners were presented with their certificates during the prizegiving section of the evening.

The Finals were led by our compéres, Isobel Liddle and Caitlin Wilkinson, and were adjudicated by Mr Simon Toyne, Executive Director of Music for the David Ross Trust, and, as a last minute stand-in, Mr Brain. Louise Reid, former Director of Chapel Music at TPS, was unable to be with us at short notice due to unforeseen circumstances.

The pupils who performed in the Finals all played magnificently (a full list of performers can be found below) and the standard of performance, both artistically and technically, was outstanding. The variety of instrumental and vocal repertoire performed was highly entertaining for the audience, ranging from Baroque works, through to pieces by twentieth century and contemporary composers. The audience were treated to performances of immense skill and sensitivity, with pupils demonstrating their talents to their very best, carrying the listener on a wide, emotional journey.

The final results saw two pupils retain their titles from last year, with Henry Jiang winning Prep Junior Young Musician of the Year and Anjali Khela winning Most Promising Musician. Natalie-Tina Oppong was Runner-Up as Prep Junior Young Musician and Milo Deem was Runner-Up as Most Promising Musician. The Runner-Up for Young Musician of the Year was Sienna Whittles and the winner of Young Musician of the Year was Emma Clay.

It was a thrilling evening and all the pupils can be incredibly proud of their performances and achievements. It was an honour to hear you all perform and show such sophisticated musicianship. Well done!

Mr Brain, Head of Music


  • ISC
  • nace
  • woodard
  • heads
  • plp
  • Careers